About Our District Administration Board of Education Safety Schools
Buildings and Grounds Business Services Communications Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Food Services Guidance Health Services Human Resources Special Services Technology Services Transportation Student Services
Challenge Parents as Teachers English Language Learners iBelieve Initiative Shine By Nine The Great Blue Jay Read YMCA Before and After School Care
Schools Augusta Elementary Campbellton Elementary Clearview Elementary Labadie Elementary Marthasville Elementary South Point Elementary Washington West Elementary Washington Middle School Washington High School Four Rivers Career Center Early Learning Center
Blue Jay Athletics Cafeteria Menus Discovery Education GroupWise Email Handbooks Lumen WeBSIS Moodle 2 Naviance Outlook Email Renaissance Place Scholastic Student Access Turnitin World Book Online Clever Destiny Library District Policy Manual GoNoodle Password Help Pearson Schoology Summer Reading Lists Summer School VDI - Students
Cafeteria Menus Lumen WeBSIS Moodle 2 Naviance Parent Portal Info Positive Behavior Support Renaissance Place RevTrak Online Payments Back to School Information Enrollment and Registration GoNoodle Registration/Enrollment Standards Based Grading Volunteer
Aesop App Approval Clever Curriculum Login District Intranet Forms GroupWise Email Handbooks Help Desk Horizon Workspace Instructional Coaching Request Lumen WeBSIS Mentor Handbook Moodle 2 NEE Evaluation Outlook Email Password Help Pearson Professional Development Professional Development Feedback Form Renaissance Place Required Training Checklist 2017-18 School Messenger Scholastic Teacher Access Schoology SchoolReach SISFin Portal VDI - Staff
City of Washington Chamber of Commerce Flier Forum Focus Group Two Focus Group Three School-Business Partnership WINGS Educational Foundation CAPS Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Focus Group Four WHS Reunions


Board of Education
220 Locust Street
Washington, MO 63090
Phone: (636) 231-2000
Fax: (636) 239-3315


About Your Board of Education

As elected representatives of the citizens of the School District of Washington, the seven-member Board of Education serves as the governing body for the community's public school system. The school board sets district policies, selects the superintendent of schools, adopts the annual budget and determines the tax rate.

An annual school board election is held in April. Board members serve three-year overlapping terms with two or three members elected each year. School board members, who receive no salary, are committed and concerned citizens who devote countless hours working on behalf of children and the educational interests of School District of Washington residents.

Board Meetings

The Board of Education generally meets on designated Wednesday evenings during the school year and monthly during the summer. Board meetings are held in the Board Room on the second floor of the District Office, 200 Locust Street, at 7 p.m. The community is welcome and encouraged to attend.

Board meetings are open to the public. Executive session meetings, which are closed to the public in accordance with Missouri Sunshine Law, are scheduled as required and held only for certain student, personnel, property and legal matters.

Addressing the Board

District residents are welcome to share their views with the Board of Education during the public comments forum following the start of each regular meeting.

Residents who wish to address the Board of Education must list their name and the agenda item their public comment addresses on the sign-up sheet provided. According to District Policy BDDH – Public Participation at Board Meetings, the Board will establish a time limit for the public comments period, an individual may speak one time during this period, the Board will establish a uniform time limit for each speaker and only items from the posted agenda may be discussed.

Board Members

Kevin Blackburn


John Freitag
Vice President


Trish Mitchell


Scott Byrne


Dan Contarini



Susan Thatcher


Bob Oreskovic


Sophie Koritz
Student Representative

Board Secretary

Important Links