2018 WINGS STEAM Grant Awarded
WINGS STEAM Grant 2018
The WINGS Educational Foundation awarded its third STEAM Collaborative WINGS Grant.

The grant for $6,737 was awarded to Four Rivers Career Center in collaboration with Washington West and Campbellton elementary schools for the “BUILD Academy – Building Unique and Innovative Learning by Design.” The project will offer sixth-grade students a project-based learning experience to research, design, plan, construct, market and sell a product – dog houses.

Front row, from left, are Lindsay Kober and Julie Strubberg from Washington West Elementary. Middle row, from left, are Annie Wieland from Four Rivers Career Center, Ashley Garrett from Washington West and Dawn Kitchell from WINGS. Back row, from left, are Andy Robinson from Four Rivers Career Center, LuAnn Engelbrecht from Campbellton Elementary and Becky Cox from WINGS.

WINGS Hall of Honor 2017 Inductees
WINGS Hall of Honor 2017
Pictured are 2017 WINGS Educational Foundation Hall of Honor inductees, along with WINGS members and School District of Washington staff.  Seated, from left, are Annette Bebermeyer, Carolyn Wolff, Julie Perry and Marilyn Miller (family members accepting in behalf of Carolyn Shotwell, Educator Award). Standing, from left, are WINGS members Teresa Brockman, Casey Zastrow, Amy Oesterly, Cindy Lohmeyer and Ruthann Smith, Hall of Honor inductee Rocky Sickmann (Alumni Award), School District of Washington Superintendent Dr. Lori VanLeer, Hall of Honor inductee Andrea Rau (Community Contributor Award), and WINGS members Janie Chalem, Carol Zanin, Brad Mitchell, Nancy Wood and Rich Buckman.
2017 Support Staff Person of the Year
Support Staff Person of Year 2017
Augusta Elementary Secretary Dawn Martin, holding plaque, was named the WINGS 2017 Support Staff Person of the Year. From left are Amy Oesterly (WINGS), Dawn Martin, Casey Zastrow (WINGS) and Teresa Brockman (WINGS).

Jackie Krafft Early Bird Grants 2018
Jackie Kraff
t Early Bird Teacher Grants are intended to help educators begin the school year. These grants are named in honor of longtime Washington educator, past WINGS Board Member and WINGS Hall of Honor recipient Jackie Krafft. The Maximum amount awarded is $150.00.  The Applications must be received no later than 4 p.m. on Thursday, September 20,2018.  Here is the application:

2018-19 Jackie Kraft Early Bird Grant Application.pdf
WINGS Educational Foundation
PO Box 203
Washington, MO 63090
Phone: (636) 231-2100
501(c)3 Corporation

Support WINGS

WINGS Hall of Honor Sept. 29

The WINGS Educational Foundation will holds its Hall of Honor Gala on Saturday, Sept. 29, at the Elks Lodge in Washington, 1459 W. Fifth Street.

The WINGS Hall of Honor was formed to recognize alumni, community contributors and educators who have shown exceptional personal, community or professional achievement.

The 2018 honorees are Doris Jones, who will receive the Educator Award; Tim Wood and Jim Perdew, who both will receive the Alumni Award; and Herb Homeyer, who will receive the Community Contributor Award.

The WINGS Teacher of the Year from the School District of Washington also will be named. The six finalists are:

Cody Stapel - Special Education teacher at Washington West Elementary.

Dan Brinkmann – Automotive Technology teacher at Four Rivers Career Center.

Melissa Ziegler - Science teacher at Washington Middle School.

Tim Branson - No Excuses teacher at Washington High School.

Heather Clark - Counselor at South Point Elementary.

Jennifer Maune - Third grade teacher at Augusta Elementary.

Cocktails and appetizers will be served at 5 p.m. followed by dinner at 6 p.m. The program follows dinner. The cost is $50 per person.

To register, send name, phone number, email address, and number of people in your party, along with a check made payable to WINGS, to WINGS Educational Foundation, P.O. Box 203, Washington, MO 63090.

For more information, contact Susan Harms 636-359-1452.