School Board Receives Governance Award

SDOW Board of Education Receives Governance Award
Posted on 05/29/2020
Board of EducationThe School District of Washington’s Board of Education has received the Missouri School Boards’ Association 2020 Governance Team Award.

This recognition is based on the outstanding commitment to ongoing professional development, regional and statewide leadership, and active participation in legislative advocacy for public schools demonstrated by the school board and superintendent.

School boards and superintendents that receive this award demonstrate the value of ongoing learning for continuous improvement.

SDOW board members are John Freitag, Scott Byrne, Susan Thatcher, Kevin Blackburn, Bob Oreskovic, Jason Oesterly and Matt Wilson.

“I’m incredibly thankful to have a high functioning School Board. They do their homework, put in the time and enrich their knowledge with much training,” said SDOW Superintendent Dr. Lori VanLeer. “Congratulations to our Board on again receiving the Governance Award from MSBA.”

This year’s 24 recipients of the award met the following criteria:

* The district is accredited.

* All seven school board members obtained Essential CBM certification from MSBA (or were grandfathered from the requirement).

* At least two board members attained the Advanced Board Member certification from MSBA.

* At least one board member attained the Master Board Member certification from MSBA.

* A quorum of the board and superintendent attended MSBA’s 2019 Annual Conference.

* At least three board members and the superintendent (or other district administrator) discussed a 2020 MSBA Spring Regional Meeting program.

* A district representative attended MSBA’s 2020 Legislative Forum.

* A board representative participated in MSBA’s 2019 Delegate Assembly.

Due to the coronavirus restrictions, presentation of the plaques for the 2020 Governance Team Award will be delayed. They will be formally presented at MSBA’s Annual Conference in Cooperation with MASA on September 25-27 in Kansas City.

Board of Education
Board of Education Governance Award

The School District of Washington’s Board of Education received the Governance Team Award from the Missouri School Boards’ Association. Seated, from left, are Scott Byrne, Susan Thatcher are Kevin Blackburn. Standing, from left, are Matt Wilson, Bob Oreskovic, Superintendent Dr. Lori VanLeer, Jason Oesterly and John Freitag.