Annual Awards

Teacher of Year
Award for Educational Excellence
The WINGS Foundation Award for Educational Excellence is presented annually in partnership with the Missourian Publishing Company and 2 Washington High School Alumni to an outstanding educator within the School District of Washington. The recipient receives a plaque and $1,000. The 2019 winner of the Award for Educational Excellence went to Erin DeClue, Pre-K Autism instructor at the Early Learning Center.

Past Recipients

Recipient School/Department
Erin DeClue
Early Learning Center
Dan Brinkmann
Four Rivers Career Center
2017 Ann Loesing Washington High School
2016 Amy Gruber Washington West Elementary
2015 Shelly Struckhoff Washington Middle School
2014 Susan Thomas Four Rivers Career Center
2013 Brenda Kosark Washington Middle School
2012 Rick Schwentker Washington High School
2011 Connie Groff Washington Middle School
2010 Tom Haas Washington High School
2009 Wynn Scheer Fifth Street Elementary
2008 Joyce Brown Washington High School
2007 Joan Obermark Clearview Elementary
2006 Mary Kipp South Point Elementary
2005 Karen Houchins Campbellton Elementary
2004 Lori Peirick Campbellton Elementary
2003 Carol Vedder Clearview Elementary
2002 Karen Dawson Washington High School
2001 Nettie Grimes Washington West Elementary
2000 Nancy Balvin Elementary Art
1999 Debbie Maczuk Campbellton Elementary
1998 Marcia Meyer Four Rivers Career Center
1997 Jim Ogle Washington Middle School
1996 Connie Lutz Washington High School
1995 Bob Barbarick Four Rivers Career Center
1994 Janet Kleinheider South Point Elementary
1993 Marie Spires Elementary Reading

Support Staff of Year
Award for Outstanding Service
The WINGS Foundation Award for Outstanding Service is presented annually to honor a support staff employee of the School District of Washington. The recipient receives a plaque and $500. The 2019 winner of the Award for Outstanding Service was Helen Thebeau, custodian at Four Rivers Career Center.

Recipient School/Department
Helen Thebeau
Four Rivers Career Center
 Penny Wilmesherr
Washington High School
2017 Dawn Martin August Elementary
2016 Chris Arnold Washington Middle School
2015 Durae Zweifel Washington High School
2014 Amy Conard South Point Elementary
2013 Kim Siem Washington High School
2012 Chris Marquart District Office
2011 David Littrel Marthasville Elementary
2010 Nick Mateas South Point Elementary
2009 Carol Rolwes Human Resources
2008 Teresa Jones Washington Middle School
2007 Karen Graham Washington High School
2006 Vicky Murphy Four Rivers Career Center
2005 Ed Aumiller Washington High School
2004 Yvonne Ridder Parents as Teachers
2003 Lisa Coffman Labadie Elementary
2002 Eric Westhoelter District Warehouse
2001 Loretta Grinker Board of Education
2000 Sherry Limbert Washington Middle School
1999 Debbie Hicks Labadie Elementary
1998 Ed Brinkmann Buildings and Grounds
1997 Joy Chartrau Food Services
1996 Les Sullentrup Clearview Elementary

Reed Scholarship

The Doug and Dr. Jane Reed Educator & Support Staff Scholarship Award 

Two staff members from the School District of Washington recently were announced as the recipients of the Dr. Jane and Doug Reed Scholarship.

The scholarship recipients annually are given to SDOW staff members and usually are announced during the staff closing ceremony each year, but that did not take place this year.

Receiving the Dr. Jane and Doug Reed Scholarship for $2,000 apiece were Washington West Elementary fifth-grade teacher Sarah McCarthy (certified staff) and School District of Washington Social Worker Lindsey Jasper (support staff).

WINGS Educational Foundation
PO Box 203
Washington, MO 63090
Phone: (636) 231-2000
501(c)3 Corporation