Jason Oesterly Distinguished Certification

SDOW Board of Education Member Jason Oesterly Achieves Distinguished Certification
Posted on 06/01/2021
Jason OesterlyJason Oesterly, Vice President of the School District of Washington’s Board of Education, has achieved Distinguished Board Member Certification from the Missouri School Boards’ Association. He now has Distinguished, Master and Advanced Certification.

The board member certification program established by MSBA recognizes school board members who choose to complete the additional professional development requirements beyond the 18 ½ hours of training required by the Outstanding Schools Act of 1993 for new board members.

To achieve Distinguished Certification, board members must achieve Advanced and Master Certification, earn at least 60 training credits, complete annual refresher training requirements through MSBA, read a book related to school board service, observe two board meetings in other districts, attend at least two MSBA regional or statewide events, and demonstrate leadership, advocacy and presentation skills in a variety of activities related to school board service.

Members achieving Distinguished Board Member Certification will be recognized for engaging in ongoing professional development and leadership to improve the knowledge and skills they need to be effective educational leaders in their communities during the MSBA Igniting Great Ideas Summit in June.

Oesterly is serving his first term on the School District of Washington’s Board of Education after being elected in 2019.

Fellow Board of Education members Kevin Blackburn and John Freitag also have certifications through MSBA. Blackburn has Master and Advanced Certification. Freitag has Advanced Certification.

Jason Oesterly
Jason Oesterly

Oesterly Distinguished Certification
Oesterly Distinguished Certification

Jason Oesterly of the Washington Board of Education receives his Distinguished Certification Award from the Missouri School Boards’ Association. Pictured with Oesterly are MSBA Executive Director Melissa Randol (left) and Past President Rhonda Gilstrap (right). He received the award at MSBA’s Igniting Great Ideas Summit in Springfield on June 18.