WHS Students Journalism Contest

Washington High School Students Participate in Missouri Interscholastic Press Association Journalism Day Conference and Contest
Posted on 04/16/2021
WHS Students Journalism ContestWashington High School television, newspaper and yearbook students recently competed in the Missouri Interscholastic Press Association Journalism Day Conference and Contest, better known as MIPA J-Day. The virtual event took place on March 31 through the Whova app.

Award rankings for the contest were All-Missouri as the highest ranking followed by Superior and Excellent.

Blue Jay Journal Television Awards

Broadcast PSA “Your Mental Health is Not a Race” by Allison Meyer, Mackenzie Lawyer and McKenzie Whelan - Excellent

Broadcast Human Interest / Feature “Local Movie Theatre Adapts for the Community During COVID-19” by Jocelyn Dixon - All Missouri

Broadcast Human Interest / Feature “The Franklin County Humane Society” by Allison Meyer - Excellent

Broadcast Human Interest / Feature “The New Face of Industrial Arts” by Davin LaRue - Superior

Broadcast News Feature “Teachers Mental / Emotional Health During COVID-19” by Matthew Freitag, Molly Bauer, Emma Duncan and Grace Bryson - All Missouri

Broadcast News Feature “Students and Teachers Cope With COVID-19 Quarantine” by Gabbi Ziglin, Davin LaRue and Natalie Oesterly - All Missouri

Broadcast News Story “The Digital Divide” by Natalie Oesterly - Superior

Broadcast Sports Feature “WHS Fall Sports March Forward” by Emma Duncan - Superior

Online Blog “Emma’s BJJTV Blog” by Emma Duncan - All Missouri

Online Blog “Kaden’s BJJTV Blog” by Kaden Meyer - All Missouri

Online Blog “Davin’s BJJTV Blog” by Davin LaRue - Superior

Blue Jay Journal TV students also won first place in the MIPA PSA contest. Students were given the topic of the importance of local newspapers and had to create a PSA promoting their importance. Click here to see the PSA.

The winning team was Grace Bryson, Jocelyn Dixon, Joie Heien and Molly Bauer. Click here for the PSA. The judge stated: “This was a great PSA that quickly showed the importance of local journalism by highlighting what information would be missing if these resources were not available.”

Yearbook Overall

All-Missouri (Editors-in-Chief Mia Harting and Chloe Weiss)

2021 Theme Development

Honorable Mention (Editors-in-Chief Julia Peters and Alyssa Warnecke)

Yearbook Traditional Package (Sports, Academics, Student Life and People)

Superior - Band (Louis Paule, Abigail Sloan, Nina Zimmermann and Haley Walde)

Superior - Cheerleading (Cecilia Tornetto, Gabrielle Lindemann, Mya Wardwell and Hanna Roady).

Excellent - Mask Fashion (Haley Walde, Lauren Engemann, Amber Lesire and Mya Wardwell)

Excellent - Volleyball (Cecilia Tornetto, Natalie Nothum, Bobbie Morrison, Hanna Roady and Abigail Sloan)

Excellent - Softball (Lauren Engemann, Cecelia Heimos, Julia Craven and Julia Donnelly)

Honorable Mention - Summer (Molly Tinkey, Gabrielle Lindemann, Louis Paule and Nina Zimmermann)

Honorable Mention - People (Cecilia Tornetto, Amber Lesire, Maddie Kelley, Bobbie Morrison and Lauren Brueggemann)

Overall News Magazine

Honorable Mention - (Editor-in-Chief Bobbie Morrison)

Overall Online News Site

Superior - (Web Editor Sophie Nieder)

News Writing

Excellent - "English teacher Jocelyn Coates retires at semester" (Mackenzie Lawyer)

News Feature

All-Missouri - "Sanitation Allows for Education" (Emma Hillermann, Kaylee Karll, Bobbie Morrison, Sophie Nieder, Elena Roewe, Ben Tobben and Jadyn Whittall)

Honorable Mention - "Need for Speed" (Amber Christeson)


Excellent - "To Kill a Mockingbird should not be required curriculum" (Kaden Meyer)

Honorable Mention - Stick shifts are better than automatics (Emma Hillermann)

Sports Reporting

Superior - "Lacing up six feet apart" (Lucas Newhouse).