Board of Education

Board of Education 2019
Board of Education
Seated, from left, are Scott Byrne, Susan Thatcher and Kevin Blackburn. Standing, from left, are Matt Wilson, Bob Oreskovic, Jason Oesterly and John Freitag.

Public Comments During Virtual Meetings

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, it has been necessary to switch to virtual board meetings for the time being. In order to continue to accommodate our District patrons, public comments relating to an item on the current month's agenda may be emailed to Please submit comments by 4:00 PM CST on the day prior to the board meeting. Thank you.

About Your Board of Education

As elected representatives of the citizens of the School District of Washington, the seven-member Board of Education serves as the governing body for the community's public school system. The school board sets district policies, selects the superintendent of schools, adopts the annual budget and determines the tax rate.

An annual school board election is held in April. Board members serve three-year overlapping terms with two or three members elected each year. School board members, who receive no salary, are committed and concerned citizens who devote countless hours working on behalf of children and the educational interests of School District of Washington residents.

Board Meetings

The Board of Education generally meets on designated Wednesday evenings during the school year and monthly during the summer. Board meetings are held in the Board Room on the second floor of the District Office, 200 Locust Street, at 7 p.m. The community is welcome and encouraged to attend.

Board meetings are open to the public. Executive session meetings, which are closed to the public in accordance with Missouri Sunshine Law, are scheduled as required and held only for certain student, personnel, property and legal matters.

Addressing the Board

District residents are welcome to share their views with the Board of Education during the public comments forum following the start of each regular meeting.

Residents who wish to address the Board of Education must list their name and the agenda item their public comment addresses on the sign-up sheet provided. According to District Policy BDDH – Public Participation at Board Meetings, the Board will establish a time limit for the public comments period, an individual may speak one time during this period, the Board will establish a uniform time limit for each speaker and only items from the posted agenda may be discussed.

Special Board of Education Meeting May 11, 2020

Board Members

John Freitag

Scott Byrne
Vice President

Susan Thatcher

Kevin Blackburn

Bob Oreskovic

Jason Oesterly

Matt Wilson

Kaleb Burr
Student Representative

Board Secretary

Julie Bell

Important Links

BoardDocs Website

District Policy Manual

Missouri School Boards' Association