Lady Jays Win District Wrestling

Wrestling Lady Jays Capture District Championship
Posted on 02/12/2021
Lady Jays Win District WrestlingCompeting at the District 2 Girls Wrestling Tournament at St. Clair High School on Friday and Saturday, February 5 and 6, Washington captured top team honors to win the district championship.

The Lady Jays accumulated a team score of 140 to top Lafayette (134), last year’s state runner-up.

Also competing in the district meet were St. Clair (114), Rolla (111.5), Waynesville (110), Eureka (106.5), Parkway South (77), Rockwood Summit (71), Parkway West (65), Union (50), Pacific (29), Marquette (23), Kirkwood (22), Sullivan (10), Borgia (6) and St. James (6).

The top four district finishers in each weight class qualified for the sectional meet, which will be back at St. Clair High School on February 20. The top three finishers in each weight class at the sectional meet will advance to the state tournament March 9 in Independence.

A total of eight Lady Jays finished in the top four of their respective weight classes to qualify for sectional competition.

Leading the Lady Jays was senior Allison Meyer, who won the 117-pound district title with a 4-0 record, improving to 39-0 on the season. She won all four of her matches by a first-period pin. Her four victories gave her a total of 103 for her career.

Washington had five wrestlers reach the district finals, four of which settled for second place.

Placing second were sophomore Julia Donnelly (102 pounds), senior Mia Reed (107 pounds), freshman Kendra Bliss (122 pounds) and senior McKenna Deckelman (127 pounds).

Also advancing to the sectional meet were freshman Annelise Obermark (third place at 137 pounds), junior Lindsay Sprung (fourth place at 132 pounds), and junior Shelby Whitacre (fourth place at 151 pounds).

Wrestling Lady Jays
Washington Lady Jays - District 2 Champions

Wrestling Lady Jays
Washington Wrestling Coach Josh Ohm and his three seniors, from left are Allison Meyer, McKenna Deckelman and Mia Reed, pose with the district championship plaque.