Board of Education

Board of Education 2020-21
Board of Education
Front row, from left, are Scott Byrne and Susan Thatcher. Middle row, from left, are Kevin Blackburn, Jason Oesterly are Matt Wilson. Back row, from left, are John Freitag and Dan Leslie.

About Your Board of Education

As elected representatives of the citizens of the School District of Washington, the seven-member Board of Education serves as the governing body for the community's public school system. The school board sets district policies, selects the superintendent of schools, adopts the annual budget and determines the tax rate.

An annual school board election is held in April. Board members serve three-year overlapping terms with two or three members elected each year. School board members, who receive no salary, are committed and concerned citizens who devote countless hours working on behalf of children and the educational interests of School District of Washington residents.

Board Meetings

The School District of Washington Board of Education generally meets on designated Wednesday evenings during the school year and the summer. Meetings are held at the Technology and Learning Center, 4245 Highway 47, Washington, MO, at 7 p.m. unless otherwise noted. The community is welcome and encouraged to attend.

Board meetings are open to the public. Executive session meetings, which are closed to the public in accordance with Missouri Sunshine Law, are scheduled as required and held only for certain student, personnel, property and legal matters.

Addressing the Board

Residents who wish to address the Board of Education must list their name and the agenda item their public comment addresses on the sign-up sheet provided.

According to District Policy BDDH – Public Participation at Board Meetings, the Board will establish a time limit for the public comments period. An individual may speak one time during this period. The Board will establish a uniform time limit for each speaker and only items from the posted agenda may be discussed.

Board Members

John Freitag

Jason Oesterly
Vice President

Scott Byrne

Susan Thatcher

Kevin Blackburn

Matt Wilson

Dan Leslie


Ella Scott

Student Representative

Board Secretary

Julie Bell

Board Treasurer

Robin Kluesner

Important Links

BoardDocs Website

District Policy Manual

Missouri School Boards' Association

Live Stream - August 26 Board Meeting

Live Stream - September 23 Board Meeting

Live Stream - October 21 Board Meeting

Live Stream - November 18 Board Meeting

Live Stream - December 16 Board Meeting

Live Stream - February 24 Board Meeting

Live Stream - March 31 Board Meeting